I got an email from "Interpol Nepal"

Archived from the original Sajha.com — preserved as posted, replies can no longer be added here.
Start a New Discussion
Archived Post

People are sometimes so jealous of  other people's work and they are so afraid of competition that they simply become retarded. Here is an example. I run a small Nepali online music streaming site where downloads are not allowed. I have never advertised my site ( expect at sajha when it was launched :), hence the username)..honestly because I have no time right now to maintain it. Anyway, this retard keeps sending me emails (this is the 2nd or 3rd) claiming he is from Nepal Police: Sent from: interpolenepal@gmail.com Dear Pronepal.com,   You people are doing totally illigal website operation with www.pronepal.com. You are requested to stop Nepali Music free distribution crime. And you don't even have rights to do so. In reference to Nepal's cyber law, you are one of the suspect, to be taken action from us. We have more than 50 cases applied form Nepali Artists, which please take seriously.   Regards   Pushkar Basnet-Inspector Nepal Police-Cyber Crime Department Singh Durbar Kathmandu Nepal. All I can say is LOL- You are an idio.t Edit: Some people pointed out that the ip is from Nepal and not from Malaysia. Thanks. The website I used to check the ip gave the wrong location. Anyway, I am not concerned about the validity of this email. It is fake ("Interpol" in the email address is spelled "interpole" and the email is extremely poorly written).  As I have mentioned above I was merely trying to share a rather amusing email which does not make sense in many ways.   My site is like an online radio station where download is not allowed, so it cannot be illegal. Sajha media collections, Nepalserial.com, nepal12 3, imeem, etc ...all these sites stream  music and/or video in a simlar way. If mine is illegal, so should all these be. Some people claim this is a strategy for free advertisment. We are Nepali. We have the tendency to criticize others. I am criticizing the person who emailed me and you are doing that to me. I get it. I assure you, it is not an advertisement attempt althought advertisment might have been the unintended effect. I lauched my site in 2007, so I wouldn't wait 2 yrs to start advertising. Also, I made this site as a hobby (love old nepali music) than a means to earn money. I don't even have any intrusive ads ( just one banner to cover space) and the site is extremely easy and simple to navigate. I intend to keep it that way. Last edited: 18-Feb-09 09:27 PM Last edited: 18-Feb-09 09:27 PM

pronepal.com · Feb 18, 2009 9:24 AM · 29,621 views

16 Replies

Looks like this is something your acquinted are trying to fool you.

ritthe · Feb 18, 2009 9:30 AM

You are trying to advertise your site. Don't try to fool other by making a story.

no_quiero · Feb 18, 2009 9:41 AM

This person can’t spell (lligal) so I would just ignore.

trilochana · Feb 18, 2009 9:43 AM

do u have these songs ankha ankha boli rahe yo kt ko thik chaina chala etc

trilochana · Feb 18, 2009 9:45 AM

हाहाहाह इन्टरपोल नेपाल को जी मेल एकाउण्ट ? हद हुन्छ नि जोक गर्नु को पनि।

rahulvai · Feb 18, 2009 9:47 AM

I really doubt the validity of that email. I would expect the top level domain to be something in the order of .gov.np. However, it is possible that they are just using email services from Google because they are unable to maintain their own mail servers. You should respond to it and ask then to email you the notice in Nepal Police's official letterhead. That way you can be certain that you are not breaking any laws :) Hope this helps. Last edited: 18-Feb-09 10:43 AM

prameya · Feb 18, 2009 10:42 AM

Forward that email to the following address. info@nepalpolice.gov.np . They should help you..

presidentofnepal2035 · Feb 18, 2009 11:42 AM

I actually figured out where he is from...There is a contact form in my site where he had sent his first email. I had ignored it, but apparently it records the ip address of the sender. Nepal Police <interpolenepal@gmail.com> wrote:We need your contact name and addresses. Please forward us by email as soon aspossible Website: IP: 120.89.120.119 I checked the ip and the sender is from Malaysia, Region: Melaka  City: Malacca Certainty: 90% I am sure this is fake. I even googled the name of the inspector and it didn't give any valid results. Well, thanks anyways... Peace out...

pronepal.com · Feb 18, 2009 11:43 AM

pronepal.com, I think you accomplished what you wanted from this post, i.e. some publicity of your website. So you, kind of, decided to wrap up the whole bullshit. For a pro like you(!) in web buisness, i don't think it was that heck of a hell to figure that out before posting it here in Sajha. Anyway, it is sajha for everyone, so why not for you? good luck

Jhapali_Thito · Feb 18, 2009 1:35 PM

Hey pronepal, I dont care if you're advertising the site, but I must say, it is a really NICE site. You've obviously put in some effort there, and I will be present to give you the proper thanks:D I've got it bookmarked for future use.

dekchidriver · Feb 18, 2009 1:45 PM

Interpol do exist in Nepal.

liveyourlife · Feb 18, 2009 2:33 PM

Who gives a shit about cyber crime in Nepal ? They cant even take care of street crime happening infront of them and ur talking about this shit....this is just the Bullshit......so dude there is other way of advertisement if u choose something like this be prepared to worry abt ur future.

unforgiventale · Feb 18, 2009 2:55 PM

Live your life....for your information...Interpol does exist in Nepal.  and youre right unforgivable WHO GIVES A RATS A S S for cybercrimes in Nepal.........other more severe crimes and criminals go unpunished and do they use computer in Nepal government now??? last time I checked....they were still using Nepali paper and filing system and trpewriter.

MadDoGG · Feb 18, 2009 4:24 PM

pronepal, thanks for your site, i was searching like this kind of site. thanks again

pkr_boston · Feb 18, 2009 6:27 PM

That IP is not from malaysia but from Nepal. You might be careful about these things because sometimes they have your name listed with Airport security and they can arrest you when you enter the country. Results of IP Tracking for 120.89.120.119 ',0,')" onmouseout="hideTooltip()"> IP address120.89.120.119 HostnameNot available ISPNepal Telecommunications Corporation Cellular Mobile and New Services Department Pulchowk, Kathmandu CountryNepal

webjunkie · Feb 18, 2009 7:36 PM

Even though the IP is traced back to Nepal, I still doubt the validity of the e-mail.  Why would the Nepal police/ Interpol (if there is a Interpol in Nepal) use GMail in the first place?  Such a accredited legal institution should have their official email address and should have a proper way of identifying the individual who they are accusing of breaking any law, which is definitely not the poorly written email that pronepal received.

mr. august · Feb 18, 2009 7:55 PM

This conversation is preserved exactly as it was on the original Sajha.com and can't accept new replies.

Start a New Discussion

You might be interested in...

Recent Classifieds View all
Upcoming Events View all
Service Providers View all